First Alert Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup - 9120B

  • First Alert Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup - 9120B
  • First Alert Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup - 9120B
  • First Alert Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup - 9120B
  • First Alert Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup - 9120B
  • First Alert Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup - 9120B
Ionization Wired In Smoke Detector
Availability: In Stock
Regular: $29.95
free shipping online only
*Click For More Details
Price: $10.95
You Save: $19.00
Quantity

Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup:

Designed to help promote household safety, the First Alert 9120B Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup can provide a vital early warning of fire. This hardwired smoke detector uses an ionization smoke sensor to reliably detect smoke from hot, fast-flaming fires.

Ionization Sensor Reliably Detects Flaming Fires

The First Alert 9120B Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup comes equipped with an ultra-reliable ionization sensor to provide the earliest possible warning of a fast-flaming fire. The sensor is optimized to detect flaming fires, such as those caused by paper, kitchen grease, and other fast-combusting materials.

Gasket-less for Easy Installation

To facilitate hassle-free installation, this smoke alarm features a streamlined mounting system with a gasket-less base. The mounting bracket keeps the alarm secure over a wide rotation range while maintaining perfect alignment. The alarm also comes with a dust cover to keep the unit clean during construction. AC-powered smoke alarms must be installed in accordance with all local electrical codes.

Battery Backup for Detection During a Power Outage

This smoke alarm is designed for hardwired installation, but it also features a battery backup that helps ensure continued functionality in the event of a power outage. The unit comes with a 9-volt battery and features a pivoting, easy-to-access battery drawer that allows you to replace the battery without dismounting the alarm.

Works in Tandem with Other First Alert Alarms

In addition to functioning independently, this smoke alarm can also integrate with up to 12 other First Alert or BRK hardwired alarms for coverage of larger spaces. It also integrates with up to six other compatible devices, such as bells, horns, and repeaters. If one alarm in the series is triggered, they will all sound. The alarm features a latching indicator to identify which unit triggered the alarm, alerting you to the area of danger.

First Alert Smoke Alarm 9120B

Recommended replacement for the following obsolete models:

BRK 4120B
BRK 4120SB
BRK 86RAC
First Alert SA4120B
First Alert SA4121B
First Alert SA4919B

Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup Features:

  • Ionization smoke sensor is optimal for detecting fast flaming fires.
  • Loud 85dB alarm.
  • Tamper resistant locking pins.
  • Single button silence/test.
  • 120V AC power with 9V battery backup (included) to keep alarm functioning during power outage.
  • Open mounting design for easy installation with side load battery compartment for quick replacement.
  • Interconnectable up to 18 units (12 smoke, 6 CO/heat/relay).
  • 10 Year Limited Warranty.
  • Emits T3 Pattern.
  • Product Dimensions (LxWxH): 5.6 x 1.9 x 5.6 in.
  • Product Weight: .60 lbs.
Product Specs
UPC:
029054015327
MPN:
9120B
Write A Customer Review Review

4.9

Average score based on 266 reviews

Rating: 4.94360902255639/5Rating: 4.94360902255639/5Rating: 4.94360902255639/5Rating: 4.94360902255639/5Rating: 4.94360902255639/5

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5

Reviewed: 09/19/2019 by John Fitzgerald

Great free shipping. Shipped within hours and arrived quicker than I expected.

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5No issues

Reviewed: 09/18/2019 by Debbie-Ann Walker

Called customer services and they made it easy to replace the alarms I had for over 10 years. Ordering from First Alert gave the best price and value and it arrived in no time to my home.

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5

Reviewed: 09/17/2019 by Melida McLenan-Kenny

Excellent choice. Very easy to installed. I am very satisfied.

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5McArdle Review

Reviewed: 09/13/2019 by Glenn McArdle

The new unit installed without a hitch and seems to function properly. The former unit was installed in 2005 and gave us no trouble until one day it started beeping incessantly, even with a battery replacement.

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5First Alert Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup - 9120B

Reviewed: 09/12/2019 by ryan psimas

Smoke detector works perfectly. Wire harness matches the previously installed detector making new install easy. Great product.

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Time to Change the Smoke Detectors

Reviewed: 09/12/2019 by Larry Feldman

Great to be able to exactly match the model that was installed. Easy to order, shipped promptly, and easy to swap out. Good for another 10 years!

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/59120B Smoke Alarm

Reviewed: 09/11/2019 by Kevin Beyer

Very easy to install, just had to remove 2 screws for the old base and put the new base in.

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Smoke alarm

Reviewed: 09/09/2019 by William Brust

Product works and was easy to replace.

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5First Alert Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup - 9120B

Reviewed: 09/02/2019 by Thomas Martin

Product arrived on time, easy to follow installation instructions, easy to install.

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5First Alert Hardwired Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup - 9120B

Reviewed: 09/02/2019 by Michael Haines

This was a direct replacement for previous smoke alarm -easy install

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5First alert smoke alarm

Reviewed: 08/30/2019 by Ronald Gliot

Exact replacement for my old detector installed with little effort

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Best smoke alert on market

Reviewed: 08/23/2019 by Herbert White

I am a general contractor and I would recommend the first alert smoke detector to any one who wants the best. I accidentally started a fire in my oven while broiling and it saved our home.

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5RON

Reviewed: 08/19/2019 by Ronald Pearson

EASY TO HOOK UP

Rating: 4/5Rating: 4/5Rating: 4/5Rating: 4/5Rating: 4/5

Reviewed: 08/14/2019 by Ken Turner

Product is as presented. Delivery took far too long to receive.

Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Rating: 5/5Smoke Detector.

Reviewed: 08/07/2019 by Will Estes

Easy to install and works perfect.

View More Reviews...
Q: What is the proper placement of smoke alarms?
A: It is important that you have the proper placement for your smoke alarms. Install your alarms at least 20 feet from appliances like furnaces and ovens, which produce combustion particles. Alarms should be at least 10 feet from high humidity areas like showers and laundry rooms, and at least 3 feet from heat/AC vents. Be sure to install a smoke alarm in each bedroom, one at the top of each stairwell, and one on every level.

Q: Why doesn't my smoke alarm sound when I push the test button?
A: It is important that you frequently test your smoke alarms. When you are testing your smoke alarm, there are a number of reasons why the alarm might not sound:
  • You may not be holding the test button down long enough. Try holding it down for up to 10 seconds (20 seconds on photoelectric models) .
  • Your battery may not be installed properly or snapped all the way in place. Even if the alarm sounded briefly when the battery touched the terminals, you still need to make sure it is snapped securely in place. If the battery is loose, in cannot power the smoke alarm properly. After installing new batteries, be sure to test your smoke detector.
  • Your AC power may not be on. AC and AC/DC units will have a power indicator light (red or green) that shines continuously when they are receiving electrical power.
  • If you have a 10-Year model, the smoke alarm may not have been properly activated. If the tab broke away before the alarm was activated, you can use a toothpick to move the switch over to test the alarm.

Q: Why does my smoke alarm go off when I install a battery or turn on the AC power?
A: It is normal for smoke alarms to go off and sound briefly (up to 5-10 seconds) when you install a new battery or when they are powered up. If the alarm continues to go off and no smoke is present, the cause may be one of the following:
  • There may be insufficient battery power, try new batteries.
  • Problems with voltage or insufficient electrical power (brown out) may cause a continuous weak sounding alarm. For AC or AC/DC models, temporarily disconnect power at the service panel until the brown out is over. If you do not restore the AC power, your smoke alarms cannot warn you of a fire.
  • Incompatible warning device. If an incompatible alarm or auxiliary device is linked into a series of AC or AC/DC smoke alarms it may cause the system inadvertently go off.

Q: I lost my First Alert smoke alarm owner's manual. How can I get a new one?
A: First Alert smoke alarm owner's manuals are available online for download at no cost. Find your alarm in our Smoke Alarms section.

Q: Why does the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) recommend that home smoke alarms be replaced after 10 years?
A: Smoke alarms have a limited life. Although each smoke alarm and all of its parts have passed many stringent tests and are designed to be as reliable as possible, any of these parts could fail over time. Therefore, you must test the devices weekly. The unit should be replaced immediately if it is not operating properly. The performance of smoke alarms older than 10 years is simply not reliable. To ensure your family's safety, all carbon monoxide and smoke/CO combination alarms need to be replaced every 5-7 years. All smoke alarms need to be replaced every 10 years.


If you are interested in ordering a large quantity of items you may qualify for volume pricing discounts. Volume Discount Pricing is a great way for customers to save big on large, bulk orders of most items available in our store. Please send a bulk order request to our friendly sales staff so they may create a quote and provide personal service for your order! You will receive a response within 1-2 business days and our office hours are Monday through Friday, 8am-5pm CST.
We make it as easy as possible to ensure you get the lowest prices available:
  • Let us know what products & the quantities you are interested in.
  • Get a detailed quote from a dedicated sales rep.
  • Our warehouse ships directly to you.
  • You enjoy the savings & are now a preferred customer.
Send A Request Now
Direct From Warehouse Pricing bulk purchase, wholesale pricing